Sunsets, farm houses and a recent preselection at the Mall Galleries.

I’m having a great time painting a new series of sunset studies over the past few days. For those of you that follow my work through social media and my blog, you will notice I’m quite restless and always on the look out for new subjects. however, I understand the importance of running with an idea or theme and this is why I try to work in a series when I find a new subject. Sometimes the series is very small, 3-5 paintings and other series can last for 20-30 paintings (Game keeper’s Cottage). For now, the plan is to walk to the same location at least 2-3 times per week and develop a large series of sunset paintings. Already, I’m blown away by the intensity of colour and design of nature.

Here are two paintings from my day-time project/series. I recently stumbled upon a beautiful little place called Newton about 15 minute walk away from my home. Newton is a tiny place consisting of a handful of farm houses, barns and a beautiful old access road. These paintings are the first two in a series exploring this beautiful little place. Each piece has been worked on for 2 sessions, roughly 5 hours each in total. They will soon appear in my online gallery and shop, available for purchase.  There’s a great potential to create  at this location, the old buildings set in this rural location offer an unlimited amount of options for compositions, it will be interesting to see how long it holds my attention for.

 

SONY DSC

And finally, some wonderful news to share with you all. I recently received confirmation that my large charcoal drawing, ‘Winter Song’ has been preselected for the Royal Society of Portrait Painters Exhibition at the Mall Galleries, London 2016. I was preselected last year but was then rejected at the final stage of judging for the show. Wish me luck!

If you haven’t already, feel free to subscribe to my VIP Newsletter to receive updates on my latest works. I also offer exclusive discounts via this newsletter so don’t miss out.

Thanks for stopping by and keep watching.

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Cottage paintings, landscapes, london, painting, portrait, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

