Lost in the woods uncovering secrets.

Thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope your year is off to a great start. I’ve not wasted any time getting myself into a new routine of work this year, already producing many intimate portraits of my children as well as spending most of time in the studio working on new self portraits which I will soon reveal.

For now, I want to let you catch up on my creativity from the last couple of months so I have begun to record my unseen paintings and drawings.

This group of paintings was made in a series, exploring the local woodland in Autumn and Winter. Two of these paintings are among the largest pieces I have ever produced out in the open air.

Most of my recent paintings have been produced over 3-5 sessions, unlike a lot of my other works which are started and completed in a  single session. At the moment I feel as though I need to try and go deeper into the subject matter and this is the reason for extending the time on each piece. Although working quickly on a piece can produce a feeling of energy and looseness, in another sense they are really quite superficial. I’m finding that repeated sessions on a painting are allowing me to see new subtle colour harmonies. It’s almost as though nature is rewarding me with her secrets.

After receiving my recent award at the Mall Galleries in London, I’m finally coming back down to earth and the usual doubts that us creative people face day to day are slowly worming their way back in. I find that when I hear those voices inside telling me that the things I am producing are pointless and no good, I just create and I silence them for a while. I guess that the self-doubt can drive us to do more, go further and that’s what I plan to do this year.

A heart felt thank you to all of my collectors and followers, your support means a great deal to me.

I look forward to sharing with you my latest works of Art as they happen.

Enjoy the rest of the week!

p.s head over to my official website and online gallery to view available works.

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

