The great obsession. Painting the old cottage ‘en plein air’.

What moves men of genius, or rather what inspires their work, is not new ideas, but their obsession with the idea that what has already been said is still not enough.”
Eugene Delacroix

Now, I’m not trying to say I’m a genius but…..

The quote above from the painter Delacroix makes me feel better about my 2 year obsession. I’ve painted this beautiful 19th century cottage in rain, snow, wind and occasionally even the sun!

It seems that each time I paint it, I notice something new or feel as though the thing/s I have tried to express can be done even better, clearer and with more confidence. This is why there is a stack of paintings building up in storage of this humble little building.

I think this is one of the biggest advantages of working ‘en plein air’ (out in the open air), you have a chance to take in the changing light, feel the temperature of your surroundings, hear the wind and wildlife. Most of this would be missed working in the studio from a single photograph.

Painting the cottage allows me to explore a variety of problems, ideas as well as to experiment with new ideas of colour and painting in general. Each painting in the series tells a unique story, in the way it was made as well as stories you might bring to the piece. I’m not sure how much longer the series will last but for now at least, I will carry on enjoying being in the moment.

Here’s my latest from the vast Cottage Series, Morning sun, Spring, Oil on canvas, 45cm x 35cm, £400.

For anyone interested in purchasing one of these pieces, you can find my contact details here.

Do you Facebook? Follow my Artist’s page here

Keep watching!

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Cottage paintings, yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

