Rejection, use it to fuel your passion!

Me with my drawing, 'Sarah'.

Me with my drawing, ‘Sarah’.

So for everyone dying to hear the verdict regarding my two pre selected portraits……It’s bad news I’m afraid. Both pieces were rejected and I have to be honest and say I am disappointed that not one of them was selected for the show.

However, I feel more creative and determined then ever! It would be very easy for me to shut down completely after such a blow but if you want to get anywhere in life, you have to get back on the old horse and keep on riding.

At the start of the year I made myself a list of targets for 2015, mainly open exhibitions to enter as well as targets relating directly to my work. It’s important now that I focus on the next target and push myself to do the best that I can.

I find that if things go well for a sustained period of time, I get complacent and begin to settle into a safety zone. In many ways, it’s quite a positive to be knocked back from the show because as I mentioned in my previous blog post, I am now asking myself questions about my work and reassessing the things I am doing.

I want to encourage everyone (Artist or not!) that if you encounter difficulties, bad news etc, fix yourself on a long term dream or aspiration and carry on!

I look forward to sharing new work fuelled by this rejection šŸ™‚

Keep watching

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in art, motivation, rejection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

