2 pieces pre-selected for the Royal Society of Portrait Painters show 2015

Me with my drawing, 'Sarah'.

I’m really excited to share with you that I have had 2 of my works pre-selected for the Royal Society of Portrait Painters Exhibition 2015. So I’m not actually yet in the exhibition but it’s a nice feeling to know that the judging panel have decided that they would like to see these two pieces in the flesh to make their final judging decision.

'Sarah', charcoal on paper, 27cm x 36cm currently available

‘Sarah’, charcoal on paper, 27cm x 36cm currently available

I’ve always loved portrait drawing, trying to pin down something of the sitter on paper, canvas or even in clay. I’m becoming more interested in the sitter’s gaze and plan on making many more portraits over the coming year alongside my landscape painting.

Sarah's Hair, Oil on panel, 29cm x 29cm, currently available.

Sarah’s Hair, Oil on panel, 29cm x 29cm, currently available.

Portrait painting is a very tricky business indeed. I find drawing very liberating and free and I want to try to get a sense of this in my painting. It is very easy to loose this freshness of touch in painting as there’s so much more to consider than in a drawing, colour choices for a start. I really enjoying seeing the physical painted mark, the decisions that all stack up and work together like cogs in a machine to create the overall image.

Fingers crossed for a positive result in February. Keep watching.

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in art, artist, painting, portrait and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2 pieces pre-selected for the Royal Society of Portrait Painters show 2015

  1. Ben Hughes says:

    Hi Andrew. Firstly Happy New Year…..secondly congratulations on having these pieces selected.

  2. Hi Ben, Happy New Year to you too! Thanks for your encouragement, much appreciated. Looking forward to working on the portrait of your new home later in 2015 🙂 I hope you are well and settling in. Very best wishes. Andrew

Leave a Reply

