Happy New Year! Review of portrait entries for the Royal Society of Portrait painters

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy New Year to everyone (although slightly later than usual!). This is my first post of 2015 and I wanted to start by saying a huge thank you to all of my followers, old and new.

Last year was very fruitful for me in terms of Artistic progress. Looking back I feel as though I made some great discoveries about myself as an Artist, gaining a greater understanding of my subject matter and also developing professionally.

I am now officially a full-time professional Artist after making the important decision to leave my part-time teaching post. If I want a chance of making it as an Artist, I realise I must focus solely on Art (and of course being a loving husband and father!).

And now you see, I have no excuse for not getting anywhere with my creative work, there’s nothing to stop me except myself.  With this in mind I am working on entering some of the UK’s most prestigious Art exhibitions in the hope of being shortlisted to showcase my work in top profile galleries. I had a taste of what it feels like to be accepted in 2012 when I was successful in entering a self-portait into the Ruth Borchard Compeition.  Although I didn’t win a prize it was a great feeling hung among leading British Contemporary Artists.

I am based in a small village called Sprotbrough in South Yorkshire and although I have a great amount of support from the locals, this isn’t going to get me very far in the long term. I realise that entering open exhibitions and competitions is a great way to widen my net of viewers and also gain credibility as a serious Artist. Entering such sort after exhibitions must surely show the commitment that an Artist has for their profession?

You see, it’s not as simple as just taking a couple of pictures on your phone and shooting them off to the curator. I’ve taken hours carefully selecting the body of work to enter to the Royal Society Of Portrait Painters open exhibition. The things to consider are many and then there’s application process and even the fees. Thankfully, as a ‘young’ painter (under 35 apparently! ) I get a reduction on the entry fee, £10 per piece.

Obviously, before you can even begin to think about entering these exhibitions, you must first have at least one painting you think is good enough! For years, I avoided open exhibitions because I always felt that my work was still developing. I realise now that my work is always going to be developing and this is something that I believe should be celebrated. All we can do as Artists is to offer our very best at any moment in time and this is what I am planning to do from this point onwards. 

If you have read the great length of this post, thank you! I look forward to posting news of my progress, success and even my failures over the coming year.

Keep watching

Andrew

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year! Review of portrait entries for the Royal Society of Portrait painters

  1. Jessica Hunt says:

    Andy, I wish you the very best of luck! It has been wonderful to hear that you are doing so well. A truly lovely thing to follow your passion and to be able to give it such commitment. Keep us posted!!!! Jess x

Leave a Reply

