The Winter Cottage and my Winter Studio.

With Winter setting in, I’m now splitting my painting day into sections. The morning until lunch I am spending outdoors landscape painting, weather permitting. The afternoon I am working in my Winter studio. yesterday I started a series of Rose paintings which I am really enjoying exploring. I’ve taken one red rose and painting it from a number of angles. I’m thinking about changing the background cloth to see how this might affect the colours in the rose.

I’ve included some images of the paintings in progress as well as finished to give you a bit of an insight as to how I work.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s always good to know what you like. I’ve realised recently that I much prefer to take a single object and focus in on it, rather than spend a lot of time organising many objects to create a larger still life. I like the intimacy of a single object on a small canvas. It gives me a chance to get stuck into drawing and colour without worrying about balancing loads of other objects.

Here’s this morning’s effort!

SONY DSC

It’s very mild in Yorkshire at the moment, especially for a  November day. I need to make the most of this before the real Winter sets in!

Thanks for viewing and feel free to comment, share and ask questions.

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

