Portraits, no secrets here.

Following on from my previous post. Here’s 3 new portraits of my wife Sarah. Portraits have to be one of the most complex subjects to work on. If you think about it, we see faces throughout the day and are tuned into facial proportions. If something isn’t quite right in a portrait, it stands out like a sore thumb.

'Sarah' Pencil on A4 paper. Currently available.

‘Sarah’ Pencil on A4 paper. Currently available.

These drawings were made rapidly from the model in a single session, roughly 1 hour each. It’s a very intimate thing to do, creating a portrait, especially if you know the model. Knowing the model can also have its down side. The model knows they are not being paid for the sitting, so why on earth should they sit still for you? My advice is to have buckets of tea on demand, this keeps Sarah happy anyhow.

Sarah, Ink study. Pen and ink on A4 paper. Currently available.

Sarah, Ink study. Pen and ink on A4 paper. Currently available.

Some of you may be new to drawing, and especially portraits. Maybe your reading on to find the secrets of how to make a realistic portrait. Here’s the thing, there are no secrets. The best advice I can give to any any beginner Artist is to draw, draw and draw. When I was younger, and even today, I draw on anything and everything. From envelopes, to working over old drawings that I didn’t care too much about. I draw everywhere, at the breakfast table, in church (that’s right, I’m a church goer don’t you know!) and even in the bath.

The key thing to remember is that we all need start somewhere. If you’re worried about what other people may think, don’t show anyone your drawings until you’re confident or need some feedback.

'Sarah reading', Oil on panel. 30cm x 30cm. Currently available.

‘Sarah reading’, Oil on panel. 30cm x 30cm. Currently available.

So, I know I said that there aren’t any secrets when it comes to drawing. But if there is one ultimate tip, I would say that it is to use your eyes as much as possible. If you can’t observe, you can’t draw. If you can observe and your patient, you will get where you want to be eventually.

Don’t get me started on painting……

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

