Portrait painting in progress

This year I am determined to enter a number of well known portrait exhibition within the UK. I have now turned my focus to doing just that. Here’s a self-portrait which I started this morning. SONY DSC

Starting a painting is really the fun part, massing in the composition and getting some of the facial structure down. After about 2 hours of work, I quickly realise that I have no idea what I am doing….what is a face?  what colour am I looking at?

I believe that it’s through careful and focused exploration that I begin to find out how to paint my subject, I begin to realise which colour will express the colour I am looking at.

The problem starts when you sit down and you already know how you’re going to paint the picture. I once read that ‘Nature is the true teacher’. It’s so easy to get caught up in the rules of drawing and painting and forget to actually look!

This portrait has a long way to go but I feel it’s not a bad start……

You can also view a number of other portraits right here 

I look forward to posting new progress as it happens. Please comment if you would be interested in me filming a painting session for you to view online. It might be interesting for you to see how the painting begins and evolves throughout the process.

Finally, I would like to share with you that I have just made available a number of my favourite paintings as limited edition prints which can be viewed and purchased online at www.artfinder.com/andrew-farmer

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in art, painting, portrait and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

