A visit to London

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was recently shortlisted by the Royal Academy to be entered into the world famous Summer Show 2014. I managed to get through to the second round of judging which meant I was requested to bring the painting in the flesh to London to be viewed for final consideration. Now, if you’re investing £50 in a train ticket, it makes perfect sense to sqeeze as much as possible out of the day (and that is what I did!). Before the handing in day, I prepared a number of boards to paint on, packed a small and light weight painting kit to take to London. In 2009, I spent the whole year studying in London at the Prince’s Drawing School. In this year, I made many drawings in Trafalgar but never found the nerve to set up and paint  because of the hustle and bustle. A few years have passed since then and my confidence has grown and this time, I didn’t let the opportunity pass me by. IMAG0069I have never experienced anything quite like painting in Trafalgar Square, so much noise, traffic, tourists. It took me about 20 minutes to settle into the painting before I felt focused. After making an oil painting, how do you get it home? Well, as you can see from above I actually made 3 paintings! I will let you in on a little secret….I use drawing pins in the four corners of the canvas panels which enables me to stack the paintings on top of one another. I have used this method for a number of years with plenty of good results. I have to say, there’s something very satisfying about getting on a train home knowing that you have had a good days painting. These paintings will be available on this site shortly but if you can’t wait, here’s a link to my Artfinder page where you can view them for sale 🙂 Thanks for viewing

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in art, artist, drawing, london, painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

