The excitement and stresses of exhibiting (Solo show)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For us Artists trying to make a living, surely one of the key things we must do is exhibit our Art. But where do we start? How do we get a show?

My advice would be to start by exhibiting locally to build up a good reputation with friends and family, Facebook seems to be a great place to kick start this as well as sharing key information about up and coming exhibitions. Begin visiting potential venues (cafes/coffee shops/ galleries) and speak to the owners/managers and be friendly, a smile can go a long way! 🙂

Consider places which tend to get a lot of foot fall. I have recently organised to have an exhibition in the cafe of a large country park which hundreds of people visit each day, especially now the weather is picking up.

Not only this, the works I have decided to exhibit are of local landscapes. This is another important point to consider, we must aim the right type of work at the right place. By this, I don’t mean researching what will sell in a specific place and then going off to paint lots of that kind of thing. That would be selling your soul……However, within my portfolio I am able to select from existing works to compile a ‘Theme’ which will suit a specific place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ok, so I have a solo show on the horizon, what now? Be prepared! I have roughly one month until the exhibition but already I have 50% of my work framed and mounted. I have already begun to announce to friends/family/public that I am having a solo show. It’s a good idea to give people plenty of warning on the run up to a show, this will give them a chance to plan their visit to see the work.

As you can see from the images at the top, I have been very busy framing. I recently a invested a fair amount of money into framing equipment which I installed into my studio/workshop. After a long time experimenting with framing, I have decided for now at least that I want to unify my exhibition by fixing each painting in an identical frame. I had a show in 2012 and every painting was framed differently, the result was like Aladin’s Cave…..Keep things neutral and unified is my advice.

Exhibiting can be very fun, exciting and rewarding but to lower the stress levels, I repeat, BE PREPARED.

I will soon post exact detailes of my Solo Exhibition for anyone living fairly local (South Yorkshire)

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in art, artist, charcoal, drawing, gallery, painting, Uncategorized, yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

