Racing against the sun! (Painting the garden)

Inspired by Monet, most of my paintings are painted from observation, ‘en plein air’ as the French say.

Image

Yesterday night I started these two paintings just as the sun had begun to set. I had only 20 minutes of light which was pretty similar in which to work on each seperate painting.

The first one(tall narrow panel) was the most exciting to paint out of the two. Looking towards the sun, forms and substances melt before your eyes, being oblitterated by the sun. Tree trunks and branches begin to glow blood red and boil. This might all sound a little far fetched but it really is how I perceived the event šŸ™‚

The paintings below show the results of the second evening session. It’s nice to start on a good foundation, I always find that the first sitting on a painting can be quite superficial as I mentioned in one of my previous blogs, Rolling clouds…

The problem with a single sitting working from life is that just as I’m about to pack my things away, I am just really beginning to see and understand a little more of the things before my eyes. This is why quite often I prefer to revisit a location for multiple sessions on the same painting.

Image

Thanks for viewing and feel free to follow my blog for future posts relating to painting and Art in general.

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in art, drawing, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

