The winner is………..Ian Dyson of Rotherham, South Yorkshire

Win this small painted study, Oil paint on panel, 6inch x 6inch, painted 2013

Win this small painted study, Oil paint on panel, 6inch x 6inch, painted 2013

Thankyou to my viewers for your response to my monthly competition! I have selected this written response by Ian Dyson, Congratulations to you!! I will be in touch with you shortly to organise shipping of the painting above.

Here is the image I asked my viewers to respond to. Enjoy and look out for the next piece of Art up for grabs!

 Materials: Artist quality oil paints on gesso primed Canvas  Size (H x W x D): 50 x 50 x 2 cm  Year created: 2013 Handmade frame ready to hang, £399

Materials: Artist quality oil paints on gesso primed Canvas Size (H x W x D): 50 x 50 x 2 cm Year created: 2013 Handmade frame ready to hang, £399

Driver’s Break

I do love my job, especially these fresh summer morning shifts. It’s just me and the world in total harmony and then, before you know it the families from hell with their screaming kids and ice creams descend on us and ruin it all.
The sea air at this time of the day is so vitalising, in fact it’s just as refreshing as that first pint I had in the Transport club last night.
You can’t wish for much better than this, on the sea front at Scarborough – truly God’s own country.
The whoosh of the waves, the smell and taste of the sea carried on the breeze, even the seagulls haven’t woken up yet. You can feel the goodness this is doing – ‘breathe it in’ I remember my old mum saying, ‘it’ll do you good.
The spray at high tide can catch you out a bit if you’re not careful, made me jump a time or two, I’ve been sat in the cab with wet pants more than once.
Across the bay the old lighthouse keeps an eye on the town like a centurion. Some days it looks so distant, almost on the horizon others you could just reach out and touch it, and then, when the sea frets roll in it can fade away completely. The weather plays tricks on the eyes, teasing your senses, no two days are alike here, I like that.
We used to live in Leeds 50 years ago, and come down here on a coach bank holidays.
We’d find a spot on the beach and stay there all day with sandwiches and flasks of tea. My mum would be knitting a sweater while dad did the Mirror crossword or read Titbits. It’s all changed a bit since then and a lot more blooming expensive now. Things are brighter and more colourful these days, even the buses have had a new lick of paint or two since then.
Dad used to enjoy smoking his pipe on the top deck waving at folks like royalty as the bus slowly went past on the Foreshore promenade. Ash used to blow everywhere, he often had burn holes in all his best shirts and jackets – he used to blame it on moths, but mum weren’t having any of that.
Look at me now, I live here and even drive one of these things, and if I want a smoke I have to get off and smoke on my break, just like now when there’s nobody even onboard. Sign of the times, health and safety gone mad, dad would say as he coughed and spluttered with his pipe, trying not to set fire to everything around him.
Mind you, having to get off the bus for a smoke gives me chance to stretch my legs when I’ve been sat behind this wheel all day. I have about a five minute turnaround at each end – here at the Spa and over at the Corner Café in North Bay. It’s just enough time to light up a Park Drive, one of life’s few remaining pleasures.
Ah well, time I wasn’t here, off back to North Bay.

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

