Fixing the tow path and a coffee break

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not far from my home in Doncaster, repairs are currently being made to the canal tow path. The machinery being used is incredible, and it’s all floating on barges. It’s quite surreal to see such machinery in this setting which is why was compelled to paint it. ‘Fixing the tow path’ the more complex piece was fascinating to paint. Due to some of the machinery moving around, some of the objects feel incomplete, in flux and semi abstract.Β  Half way through the painting, I decided it was time for a break. I took my small camping stove and traditional coffee perculator, the smell of coffee and oil paints, what could be better on a painting expedition??

I’m hoping to return to the same spot tomorrow to tackle another in the series.

Keep watching

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fixing the tow path and a coffee break

  1. chelsey701 says:

    First off, I dig your shoes, I rock the same ones. Second, I just happen to stumble across your blog and your work is fantastic. I love how painterly they are. keep up the good work

    • Hi Chelsey, thanks for your message and lovely comments! πŸ™‚ My shoes have seen better days at the moment, may have to invest in some more…..red. I will also check out your blog soon, looking forward to it. keep an eye on mine as i’m about to start a monthly contest with a painted study up for grabs πŸ™‚ I’m thinking along the lines of asking members to write short response/poem/or even draw a response to one of my paintings. should be fun and a good way to engage with viewers from all over the globe! Can’t wait. Best wishes

Leave a Reply

