7 Days In Staithes, 10 Paintings From Life….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 recent oil paintings completed in the past 7 days at the beautful fishing villiage of Staithes, 9 miles north of Whitby. I set myself the challenge of painting each morning, starting at 7.30am on the beach and around the villiage. This was a real test of endurance and self-discipline  but I am so glad that I set myself the challenge.

Painting from life is so different to working from a photograph. I feel as though I was learning so much observing the beach, the boats, the constantly shifting tide. There’s so much ‘time’ woven into a painting from real life. When we work from a photograph, we are looking at a fraction of a second….

The Staithes series are for sale, various framing options and postage worldwide available.

keep watching

Andrew

 

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 7 Days In Staithes, 10 Paintings From Life….

  1. lynnwhipple says:

    I love this series!! Beautiful brushstrokes!
    Yummy paint!!
    I look forward to following your work Andrew!
    Cheers,
    Lynn Whipple

  2. Capt Jill says:

    I like your paintings and congrats on completing your challenge! I have to struggle every day to get much accomplished 😦
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking some of my photos. 🙂

  3. I’m really interested in your colour selection. Love them.

    • Thanks for your comment. I use a limted pallette, cyan blue, rose red and lemon yellow plus white. The colour selection/mixing comes from careful observation of the subject. I often find that the first 30 minutes of painting is quite supeficial in terms of what I think I am looking at. The closer I look and for a longer a period, the colours begin to be modified, becoming more subtle and sensitive.

Leave a Reply

