The Miner, final leg of the project.

Today was extremely exciting as I have just had the life-size miner picked up by the casting company to have the mould and final cast made. The whole process is expected to take roughly 5-6 weeks. As soon as I know the date of the opening event I will make a public announcement aimed at those who wish to attend. I hope this project is the first of many to come. The whole project has been an incredible journey of joy, learning, fear and of craftsmanship. I have learnt to deal with new materials on a completely alien scale, my largest sculptural work to date.

Image

Although the main piece is complete, I have just begun work on 3 small sculptural plaques which will be wall mounted close to the main sculpture. These plaques will show a number of ideas linked to the mining project produced by students from Sir Thomas Wharton Community College, Edlington.

Just as exciting as this are my miniature sculptures of the original, cast in a terracotta body, to be fired and glazed in something close to the effect of bronze.

Image

I have much more news but I think that is enough for one post.

Please feel free to check out my brandnew etsy.com shop with current Art works for sale.

Keep watching

Andrew


//

//

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

