Trip to the lake District

Image

Lake District, Watercolour on paper.

Just got back from the lake District, Cumbria, Uk. On arriving I was blown away by the landscape, especially the surrounding mountains. I was so glad that I had packed my travel painting kit, consisting of a small watercolour box, a single Japanese Calligraphy Brush and an A4 Sketchbook. It’s been a while since I made work using watercolours but after a while, I begun to understand ways in which I could say what I wanted to with the material. The watercolours that I produced are very direct, using them in a way similar to acrylics and oils, wet on wet.

Image

Sun set at the lake District, watercolour on paper.

On my next visit to the Lakes I will be taking a selection of canvas and workin in oils. I found that the watercolours, as conveniant as they are were restricting in terms of layering of colours and tones.

Image

At the lake District, watercolour on paper

Image

Derwent Waters, watercolour on paper

Keep watching

Andrew

p.s follow me on twitter….

View my official website

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trip to the lake District

  1. Lex says:

    I especially like how the colours blend on the sunset watercolour. Well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

