Pondering whether to make my own Raku Kiln…..

Image

My pup Mia, Shiba Inu. Model and friend of Artist and Andrew Farmer

recently considering making my own kiln which could be used for the process of Raku Firing. It’s important to have a reliable kiln to fire ceramics but at the same time, I feel robbed of the human involvement of the firing process when I use a programmable electric kiln. My plan is to construct a small propane gas powered kiln and to fire pottery in the garden. If all goes well, I will post images/videos of the kiln in action!! exciting eh?

Click here to view work currently on ebay

Keep watching

Andrew

About Andrew Farmer

I am an Artist creating in South Yorkshire in the UK. My work is mainly inspired and painted directly from nature, timeless and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pondering whether to make my own Raku Kiln…..

  1. Pete's Pots says:

    Hi Andrew,
    Good idea! I did the same a few years back using half an oil drum and ceramic fibre. Totally successful and great fun. As you may well know, Bath Potters have a little booklet giving excellent detail on how to do this.
    Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

